A History of MOAHPERD Presidents

1006	** 1	
1936	Helen Manley	University City Public Schools #* (Gulick Recipient)
1937	Helen Manley	University City Public Schools #*
1938	Harold Morris	Northeast Junior High, Kansas City *
1939	Marion Bernard	St. Louis County *
1940	Ralph Ballin	Cleveland High School, St. Louis *
1941	Pattric Ruth O'Keefe	Kansas City Public Schools #*
1942	Rosina Koetting	Southeast Missouri State University *
1943	Eloise Lemon	Central Missouri State University *
1944	Helen Riordan	Hannibal Public Schools *
1945	Ruth Ann Frazier	Kansas City Public Schools *
1946	Muriel Lomax	St. Joseph Public Schools *
1947	Helen Fahey	Kansas City Public Schools *
1948	William Lyon	Marshall Public Schools *
1949	Catherine Barr	Kirkwood Public Schools *
1950	H. Deane Smith	Northeast High School, Kansas City *
1951	A Gwendolyn Drew	Washington University *
1952	Jesse Jutten	Central Missouri State University *
1953	George Stuber	Clayton Public Schools *
1954	Eugenia Fairchild	Westport High School, Kansas City *
1955	Laura Mae Brown	Webster Groves Public Schools #
1956	Anita Aldrich	Kansas City Public Schools #
1957	Marie Hanss	St. Louis Public Schools *
1958	C.O. Green	Kansas City Public Schools
1959	Helen Hartwig	University City Public Schools
1960	Rex Fraley	Springfield Public Schools
1961	Mary Jo Wynn	Southwest Missouri State University
1962	H.D. Peterson	Northwest Missouri State University *
1963	Virginia Dicus	University City Public Schools *
1964	Louis Kittlaus	St. Louis Public Schools *
1965	Mary Margaret Estes	Northeast Missouri State University
1966	Robert Taylor	Missouri Department of Education *
1967	Dorothy Canham	Kansas City Public Schools *
1968	Dorothy Canham	Kansas City Public Schools
1969	Hal Yinger	Central Missouri State University *
1970	Brenda Wampler	Webster Groves Public Schools
1971	Ron Kirby	Southeast Missouri State University
1972	Dolores Plunk	Central Missouri State University
1973	Norman Johnson	Lincoln University *
1974	R. Joyce Bailey	Central Missouri State University *
1975	Matthew Sullivan	Special School District of St. Louis County *
1976	Feryl Graham	Independence Public Schools *
1977	Dennis Fallon	University of Missouri-St. Louis
1978		r Harris Stowe State College (Gulick Recipient)
1979	Charles R. Erickson	Missouri Western State College *
1717	Charles IC. Effeksoff	1.11.000 att 11 obtotil blate College

1980	Pat McFadden	Jefferson Junior College	
1981	John Gorman	Ferguson-Florissant School District *	
1982	Betty Kidd	Raytown School District	
1983	Dan White	Ferguson-Florissant School District	
1984	Marilee Howell	University of Missouri, Columbia	
1985	John Gnagi	Clayton School District	
1986	Kay Valentik	Mexico School District	
1987	Perry Miller	Southwest Missouri State University	
1988	James Herauf	Northwest Missouri State University *	
1989	Elois Pelton	Central Missouri State University	
1990	John Gnagi	Clayton School District	
1991	James Herauf	Northwest Missouri State University *	
1992	J. Douglas Hippler	Parkway Central High Schools	
1993	Peggy Thomas	Southwest Missouri State University	
1994	Keith Ernce	Missouri Western State College	
1995	Pat McSwegin	University of Missouri – Kansas City *	
1996	Robert Tompkins	Central Missouri State University *	
1997	*	er Springfield Public Schools	
1998	Perry Miller	Southwest Missouri State University	
1999	Joanie Shover	Blue Springs Public Schools	
2000	Bruce Harger	Drury University *	
2001	Connie Erickson	Springfield Public Schools	
2002	David Caldwell	Pattonville School District	
2003	Sheri L. Beeler	Missouri Southern State University	
2004	John Shelden	Rockwood School District	
2005	Margie Miller	St. Joseph School District	
2006	Scott Strohmeyer	Central Missouri State University	
2007	Amy Merritt	Lee's Summit School District	
2008	Chris Lantz	Truman State University	
2009	Julie Lueckenhoff	Blair Oaks School District	
2010	Matt Symonds	Northwest Missouri State University	
2011	Melanie Zerr	Wentzville School District	
2012	Willliam Russell	Missouri Western State University	
2013	Stacey Bryant	Lee's Summit School District	
2014	Jen (Hadler) Hoell	Kirkwood School District	
2015	John Ponzar	Fox School District	
2016	Taralyn Garner	Park Hill School District	
2017	Ron Ramspott	Parkway School District	
2018	Britton Johnson	Missouri Western State University	
2019	Sandy Moore	Wentzville School District	
NOV 2019 - switch to MOSHAPE (MO Society of Health and Physical Educators)			
2020	Dennis Docheff	University of Central Missouri	
2021	Dr. Patrick Fine	Rockwood School District	
2022	Anna Forcelledo	Rockwood School District	

* Deceased

The Luther Halsey Gulick Medal is awarded as the highest honor that AAHPERD, now SHAPE America, can bestow in recognition of long and distinguished service to one or more of the professions represented in the national association.